Dublin City Marathon 2019


It was big year for the marathon this year – the 40th anniversary and a record 22,500 runners signed up to take part. We had a mix of marathon veterans and debutantes on the day, all having put in hundreds of miles of training and undoubtedly made a number of sacrifices to get to that start line. The hard work was evident in the times produced on the day.  Yet again the weather gods did the runners a favour and brought perfect running conditions – a crisp clear morning with not a hint of a breeze. It was an earlier start this year with the first wave setting off at 8.45 and we had an army of stewards lined up along Aughrim street and the NCR waiting to cheer on our clubmates.


We had some phenomenal results from our men. Podge and Eanna both came in well under 2:50, PBs for both. Well done lads. They were followed by a trio of first-timers – Patrick O’Reilly (2:51:30), Gareth Horgan (2:57:47) and Eoin Condron (3:01:08). Fantastic running lads, especially on your first outing. Brian Boland came home with a massive PB time of 3:08:54. Next up were the Andies…Andrea Davies with 3:19:12 and Andrew Moore closely behind in 3:19:51. Paul Foran was next with 3:32:41, a PB I believe. Ed Murphy, in his second marathon in a week (!), finished in 3:57:37. He was followed by Denis Nunan who finished in 4:33:33. Well done to all the lads on a fanstastic achievement.


On the ladies’ end of things, Siobhan Carroll was yet again first lady home in 3:11:32. Fantastic running as usual from Siobhan and earned her third place in her age category in the Dublin championships. Laura Cullen was next in an impressive 3:19:59 on her marathon debut. She was followed by Ann Foran in a PB time of 3:38:35, well done Ann. Karen Birney was next in 3:58:41 in her first marathon, followed by Hannah Snowe in 4:58:41. Well done to all our ladies.


  1. Patrick Coyle                2:46:34
  2. Eanna Kavanagh         2:48:58
  3. Patrick O’Reilly             2:51:30
  4. Gareth Horgan             2:57:47
  5. Eoin Condron               3:01:08
  6. Brian Boland                3:08:54
  7. Andrew Davies            3:19:12
  8. Andrew Moore            3:19:51
  9. Paul Foran                   3:32:31
  10. Edward Murphy          3:57:37
  11. Denis Nunan               4:33:33


  1. Siobhan Carroll           3:11:32
  2. Laura Cullen                3:19:59
  3. Ann Foran                    3:38:35
  4. Karen Birney                3:58:41
  5. Hannah Snowe           4:58:41